The Liars Key by Mark Lawrence

The Liar’s Key (The Red Queen's War, #2)The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book started slower than I’ve come to expect from Mark Lawrence. Its his longest book so far and for a little while I wondered had he stretched it a little too much but after a slow start it was an amazing read.
The focus is still on Jalan, any expected shift to Snorri didn’t happen and thats fine with me. I like Snorri but hes just too nice to be as interesting as Prince Jalen.Some of the one liners are fantastic ,I honestly think the cowardly character gives the author more scope for wit and cheek than his previous lead Jorg.
The pace really picks up around half way and the story takes on a few interesting layers. A series of flash backs flesh out both Jalans and his families pasts and it is really well done .
The high standard of Prince of Fools is well maintained and this is shaping up to a memorable trilogy
And what a cliff hanger ending . Its cruel to leave us like that for a year

View all my reviews

About Paul Walsh

I'm a big fan of fantasy and scifi, which would make up most of my reading but will branch out often enough. Favourite authors vary over time but generally include Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Conn Iggulden, Robert Harris, Karen Maitlan, Kate Mosse, Anne Rice, Philip K Dick, Ray Bradbury. John Scalzi, Mark Lawrence, Pat Rothfuss and a host of others. I'm not the harshest reviewer but will note down a few words on all books I read.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

