SCI-FI Month Reading Plan ( and anything else I might do)

Scifi month covers November and while this is its third year it is my first year to take part.
I want to make the experience worth my while so I have looked at compiling a mixed and interesting reading list of great scifi titles covering as wide a scope as time as possible, taking in a range of classics and a few more recent titles.
I will start with a review of Jules Vernes 20,000 Leagues later today, as its one of the first names that jumps to mind when talking about Classic Scifi

Next up are my current reads –

Golden Son by Pierce Brown. I loved the first part of this series and thankfully the second part was chosen as scifi book of the month for the Dragons and Jetpacks reading group. Only a small bit into it so far and already excited reading it.

Press Start to Playย An anthology by John Joseph Adams and Daniel Wilson.I think Anthologies have been a huge part of Scifi publishing for a long time and have played an important role in the genre. As such I have to read at least on during Scifi month so chose this very recent one based around gaming Scifi Stories. I’m about a quarter in and some great stories already, and I still have to read some of the big hitters like Andy Weir, Hugh Howey and Terry Pratchetts Daughter Rihanna.

Once these are finished I will work my way through as much of the following list, in no particular order –

Gods of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs

841973

Only You Can Save Mankind by Terry Pratchett

We Can Build You by Philip K Dick

Conquest by John Connolly and Jennie Ridyard

Zoe’s Tale By John Scalzi

And I’Robot by Isaac Asimov

I think I’m covering a fair range there and hopefully I can get through most of the list.

Aside form books I think a rewatch of the original Startwars Trilogy in preperation for part seven will happen. I will watch a few other films over the month, Terminator Genisis and Tommorowland are planned for this week.

I did a Back to the Future rewatch at the weekend and am still in love with that trilogy.

Not a huge Scifi gamer but I will be attempting to finally finish Lego Starwars in the month.

Any thoughts on my plans much appreciated . ๐Ÿ™‚

About Paul Walsh

I'm a big fan of fantasy and scifi, which would make up most of my reading but will branch out often enough. Favourite authors vary over time but generally include Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Conn Iggulden, Robert Harris, Karen Maitlan, Kate Mosse, Anne Rice, Philip K Dick, Ray Bradbury. John Scalzi, Mark Lawrence, Pat Rothfuss and a host of others. I'm not the harshest reviewer but will note down a few words on all books I read.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SCI-FI Month Reading Plan ( and anything else I might do)

  1. Crini says:

    Oh, I’ve never heard of Press Start to Play before. I need to get my hands on a copy!

    Golden Son is AMAZING! Be glad that you’re reading it so close to the release of the last book. The end was cruel! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • pipbookview says:

      I’m enjoying Press Start to Play. biggest shame so far is Ernest Cline was supposed to have a submission but didn’t make the deadline. A very interesting range of writers and the stories are all quite different .
      Loving Golden Son so far. Such a good series. I really am glad at my timing as I get very frustrated waiting on books especially with cliffhangers.
      This is definitely shaping up to be one of my favourite series.

  2. Yay, so glad you’re taking part ๐Ÿ˜€ Confession: I still have to read 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea! Or any Jules Verne for that matter… I have several of his books on my Kindle though. And I can’t wait to start Golden Son!

    I’d not heard of Press Start to Play until today, and I’m intrigued. Looks like you’ve got a good collection of books for the month! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • pipbookview says:

      I tried to come up with a decent mix. I read a lot of Jules Vernes books when I was a kid but some were abridged versions . Definitely an interesting choice to see where scifi developed from.

Leave a Reply

