Sci-Fi Month Film Review – Time Lapse – An interesting concept


Three friends discover a time machine which takes pictures of the future. They begin to use it to win race bets and everything goes fine till one gets greedier than another. They begin to lose faith in each other giving a sense of backstabbing as uglier truths unfold in the photos and the situation soon gets out of control.

Director: Bradley King
Writers: Bradley King, Bp Cooper (as BP Cooper)
Stars: Danielle Panabaker, Matt O’Leary, George Finn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My first SciFi film for Scifi month.
I loved the concept behind this. The technical side is straight forward enough. A group of friends through a series of events stumble across a machine that takes pictures of their living room from 24 hours into the future.
How they deal with this, how they can profit from it and how they dela with each other is essentially how the film is plotted out.
Needless to say things aren’t straight forward and naturally everything goes wrong in nasty ways.

Some of the theorising is very interesting, what will happen if the deviate from the picture even when its a scene that they are uncomfortable with, what happened to the owner of the machine.

I really enjoyed the ending , which sort of rewrote everything you thought had come before.
The one fall down on this was the acting was a bit wooden and the three main actors never quite made their characters and their motivations believable.
While I enjoyed the film I never fully engaged with it.
With such a good concept the film should have a higher level of intensity but it fell a little flat for me.
I’d give it a reasonable 3 Stars out of 5 , worth a watch but could have been better

About Paul Walsh

I'm a big fan of fantasy and scifi, which would make up most of my reading but will branch out often enough. Favourite authors vary over time but generally include Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Conn Iggulden, Robert Harris, Karen Maitlan, Kate Mosse, Anne Rice, Philip K Dick, Ray Bradbury. John Scalzi, Mark Lawrence, Pat Rothfuss and a host of others. I'm not the harshest reviewer but will note down a few words on all books I read.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sci-Fi Month Film Review – Time Lapse – An interesting concept

  1. I can’t say I’ve heard of this one before – although I’m a little scared to watch it because of the ‘nasty ways’ 😛

    • pipbookview says:

      I hadn’t heard of it either but looked for a random scifi I hadn’t heard of to get into the spirit of the month. I Might do the same next week.
      It does get a little freaky as it goes on and it gets quite violent.

  2. Sharry says:

    Hmm.. I love it when the ending makes you re-think what you just experienced. Too bad about the wooden acting though. I might still watch it, I think it’s on netflix, right?

Leave a Reply

